Why American Football is the greatest sport.

Now before I start this article I should say I don’t really think American Football is the best sport but I do think in the UK it is massively underrated and hopefully I’ll explain why in this article.
For me my interest in the NFL started in about 2001 when I played the demo of Madden 2002. It was the Baltimore Ravens vs New York Giants and I thought I’d go for the Ravens just to pick the team I imagined to be less well known. In 2008 I started watching game highlights and have progressed from there to watching more videos, going to the International Series games and getting more and more into the draft and seriously it’s a fantastic sport to get into.
The season runs from September to February so it’s all concentrated over the winter which means you get a whole seasons worth of excitement over 6 months.
The games themselves take about 3 hours to play and for an outsider that seems like ages but when you’re watching it really isn’t, you sit and talk about what’s happened, drink and eat, the pace is perfect.
The action is intense. Yes some plays are a one yard run and that’s it but in every game you’ll get a big hit, you’ll get an amazing run, an amazing catch etc that will quickly get you hooked.
Just from the Ravens you need to watch the last two minutes of the game vs the Vikings last year. 2 minutes and the lead changed 5 times, all while the pitch was covered in snow that would have seen an English game postponed!
Then the offseason quietly rumbles away with stories of contracts and college players to watch until the draft. For such a simple event they really build it up, imagine the transfer window crammed into three days. You get 6 to 10 new players and then get to study how good they look and how much you think they’ll improve your team!

Seriously I’d highly recommend the sport, to start I’d say pick a team and watch their highlights every week and go from there and I promise you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

